Australian Government - Department of Health - Office of Hearing Services
Hearing Services Program

Useful links

There are a number of other organisations that offer information, support and advice depending on your need. This section contains a list of useful links to organisations and/or websites that can provide more information, specific detail on a topic, or support and advice.

Communication Services

National Relay Service website - www.relayservice.gov.au

Department of Home Affairs Translating and Interpreting Service (TIS) - http://www.tisnational.gov.au

National Auslan Interpreter Booking and Payment Service – www.nabs.org.au

Australian Sign Language Interpreters’ Association - www.aslia.com.au

Know Your Noise – www.knowyournoise.nal.gov.au

Consumer protection agencies

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) - www.accc.gov.au

Access Canberra - https://www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au/app/home/#/

New South Wales Fair Trading - www.fairtrading.nsw.gov.au

Northern Territory Consumer Affairs - www.consumeraffairs.nt.gov.au

South Australian Office of Consumer and Business Services - www.cbs.sa.gov.au

Tasmanian Consumer Affairs and Fair trading – www.cbos.tas.gov.au/home

Consumer Affairs Victoria (CAV) – www.consumer.vic.gov.au

Western Australia Consumer Protection - www.commerce.wa.gov.au/consumer-protection

Office of Fair Trading Queensland - www.qld.gov.au/law/fair-trading

Advocacy Groups

Acoustic Neuroma Association NSW – www.users.tpg.com.au/users/bcrowe

Australian Tinnitus Association - www.tinnitus.asn.au

Better Hearing Australia - www.betterhearing.org.au

Brain Foundation website – www.brainfoundation.org.au/disorders/menieres-disease

DeafBlind Information website - www.deafblindinformation.org.au

Deaf Sports Australia website - www.deafsports.org.au

Deafness Forum of Australia website - www.deafnessforum.org.au

Parents of Deaf Children website - www.podc.org.au

Self Help for Hard of Hearing People website - www.shhhaust.org

Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children website - www.ridbc.org.au

Professional Bodies

Audiology Australia website - www.audiology.asn.au

Australian College of Audiology website - www.acaud.org

Speech Pathology Australia website – www.speechpathologyaustralia.org.au

National Association of Australian Teachers of the Deaf website - www.naatd.com.au

Audiometry Nurses Association of Australia Inc website - www.anaa.asn.au

Australian Federation of Deaf Societies website - www.afds.org.au

Deaf Blind Association (NSW) Inc website - www.dbansw.org.au

Hearing Aid Audiometrist Society of Australia website - www.haasa.org.au

Captioning and Media Access

Media Access Australia website - www.mediaaccess.org.au

Information on Disability Education Awareness Services website - www.ideas.org.au

Captioning Australia website - www.captioning.com.au

Government Agencies

The following Government agencies may be able to assist you with your hearing needs.

Department of Veterans’ Affairs website - www.dva.gov.au

Department of Human Services website - www.humanservices.gov.au

Australian Hearing website - www.hearing.com.au

National Acoustic Laboratories website - www.nal.gov.au

National Disability Insurance Scheme website - www.ndis.gov.au

Attorney-General’s Department website – www.ag.gov.au

Please note that while care has been taken in providing these links they do not constitute endorsement or approval of the websites or their content. No responsibility by the Department of Health is taken for any information or services which may appear on any linked websites. It is the responsibility of the web user to make your own decisions about the accuracy, reliability, relevance and correctness of information viewed or found.

 




Useful Links (PDF 66 KB)

Complementary Content